Skip to main content

Nominating Committee

Each year, at least six months prior to the Annual Meeting, the President shall appoint a Nominating Committee consisting of three or more members of the Society, whose function it shall be to propose to the Annual Meeting a list of qualified candidates for membership on the Council, as well as to propose candidates to be Officers of the Society in those years when the terms of the previously-elected Officers are to expire; and, when called upon to do so, to propose successor candidates to fill the remainder of the unexpired terms when vacancies shall have occurred.

The BSA seeks a diverse and inclusive board of Councilors and Officers.  The Nominating Committee shall actively seek early-career nominees and members of underrepresented groups when developing each year’s election slate.

The Chair of the Nominating Committee will be the immediate Past President of the Society in years when there is such a person; otherwise, the President may appoint any member of the Society to this position for a one-year term.

No person shall serve on the Nominating Committee two years in succession, and no current member of the Council or elected Officer of the Society other than one whose term is about to expire may serve on the Nominating Committee in any year, although the President shall advise and work with the Nominating Committee to the extent deemed appropriate.

Current Members

Heather Wolfe, Folger Shakespeare Library (Chair)
Devin Fitzgerald, University of California, Los Angeles
Naimi Nelson, Duke University
Mark Samuels Lasner, University of Delaware
Curtis Small, University of Delaware